Skip to Content

Chipotle Vegan Options

Chipotle is a Mexican-inspired chain that offers a wide variety of vegan options, from tacos to burrito bowls in the United States. If you’re a vegan, Chipotle is perfect! Out of more than 3,000 locations in the US, it can be found virtually everywhere and provides healthy and filling meals. In this article, we will explore Chipotle vegan options and what they are made of.

Chipotle Vegan Options

Vegan Options at Chipotle

Veganism is a growing trend and with it comes the growing demand for vegan-friendly food options. Chipotle is known for its delicious Mexican food, but what if you are vegan or vegetarian? Well luckily, there are a variety of menu items that will make your taste buds happy.

Chipotle Vegan Menu

We all know how hard it is to find vegan options. But don’t worry, here is the list of Chipotle vegan options:

Lifestyle Bowl

Chipotle Lifestyle Bowl

Plant-based food is popular and is taking over the world. If you’re interested in plant-based meal options, check out the Lifestyle bowl. It includes their plant-based Chorizo or Sofritas, cilantro-lime white or brown rice, black beans, fresh tomatoes, corn salsa, and red salsa recipe. An order of this bowl contains 670 calories.


Most of their dishes are made of tortillas. Luckily, Chipotle’s tortillas are all vegan-friendly! You can choose from corn or flour tortillas as your base for tacos and burritos.

Black and Pinto Beans

Pinto beans are suitable for vegan, it is a great source of protein. Your burrito won’t be as good without pinto beans. It is seasoned with onions, garlic, and other spices.

Cilantro Lime Rice (White or Brown Rice)

Cilantro Lime Rice is a common dish, it is rice cooked in a sauce of lime juice, water, bay leaves, and cilantro garnish. It’s important to note that the rice can be either white or brown depending on the type of rice used.

Fajita Vegetables

Chipotle Fajita Vegetables

The Fajita vegetables are one of the best vegan options at Chipotle. The Chipotle grilled vegetables are a mixture of bell peppers and onions. They use different colors of bell peppers (red, orange, yellow, green) and also for their onions (red, yellow, white) added with some salt, fresh oregano, and spices. These ingredients are sautéed in a hot pan and rice bran oil (it is extracted from the outer bran or husk of rice grains).


Chipotle offers salsas that are vegan. It is full of flavors coming from roasted tomatoes, fresh onions, garlic, and spices. Be sure to taste their fresh tomato salsa(mildly hot), roasted chili corn, tomatillo green chili, and tomatillo red-chili salsa which is hot.


Chipotle’s guacamole is delicious, healthy, and vegan certified. It’s made with vegetable ingredients and is perfect for those that are looking for a vegan or vegetarian option. Chipotle is the first national restaurant chain to offer an all-vegan menu, and this guacamole is just one of the many options available.


Chipotle Vegan Sofritas

Sofritas is a popular protein option at Chipotle that’s made up of tofu that’s been braised with a blend of spices, chipotle chilies, tomatoes, onions, and peppers. Customers can order tofu as a meat substitute for their burritos, tacos, or bowl. Vegans and vegetarians alike love it because they can get the same type of meal.

Romaine Lettuce

Romaine lettuce is the perfect complement to any burrito, vegetarian bowl, salad, or taco. Whether you enjoy it as a main dish or on the side, this versatile lettuce is sure to satisfy your taste buds. When ordering Romaine lettuce or any salad, be sure to skip their vinaigrette dressing because one of its ingredients includes honey which is not suitable for vegans. You can choose any of their salsa instead.

Tortilla Chips

Chipotle’s chips are made of corn masa flour, and water, seasoned with salt and lime and it is fried with sunflower oil. You can pair them with Guacamole or your favorite salsa.


Chipotle Vegan Drinks

Chipotle has a great selection of vegan drink options, including (but not limited to):

  • Water
  • Sparkling water
  • Lemonade
  • Nantucket Nectars (a fruit drink)
  • IZZE fizzy drinks (made with fruit juice and fizz with no added sugar, no artificial sweeteners, and no preservatives)
  • Assorted sodas

How to Order Vegan at Chipotle

One of the most talked about trends in food right now is veganism. There are a variety of reasons why people choose to go vegan, but one of the main reasons is that they want to be healthy and eat more nutritious food.

As more and more people are going vegan, Chipotle is offering more and more options. But how do you make these Chipotle orders?

Here’s how you order Chipotle vegan options:

First, you need to choose a base: burrito, burrito bowl, salad, or taco. Next, pick all the toppings and sides that you desire. Here are some of the most delicious toppings and sides that are available at Chipotle:

  • Black and Pinto Beans
  • Cilantro Lime Rice (White or Brown)
  • Fajita Vegetables (sautéed bell peppers and onion)
  • Sofritas (Made from tofu)
  • Guacamole
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Salsas
  • Tortilla Chips

Finally, you can choose a delightful drink to pair it with.

What Vegans Should Avoid

Veganism is a movement that encourages people to reduce their consumption of animal products and live without animal cruelty. This lifestyle excludes all meat, fish, eggs, and any other animal byproducts from one’s diet. However, not all ingredients are vegan-friendly.

Here are some of what items to avoid:

  • Any kind of meat products can be found in tacos and burrito salad bowls at Chipotle.
  • Monterey Jack Cheese should also be avoided for it is made of milk and other dairy product.
  • Queso is a creamy Mexican appetizer or side dish that is made from cow’s milk.
  • Last but not the least, Chipotle’s vinaigrette has honey.

Chipotle Vegan Options FAQs

How to eat vegan at Chipotle?

Eating vegan at Chipotle is excluding animal products from your diet. Products such as meat items, cheese, dairy, and dressings.

What is vegan at Chipotle?

Vegan friendly items at Chipotle include Lifestyle Bowls, Fajita vegetables, Tortillas, Black & Pinto beans, Cilantro lime rice, Salsas, Guacamole, Sofritas, Chips, Salads, and drinks!

Are Chipotle Chips vegan?

Yes! The chips are made of corn masa flour, and water, seasoned with salt and lime and it is fried with sunflower oil. It can be great side dish or add ons for your lifestyle bowl.

What are the Chipotle vegan alternatives 2023?

Chipotle vegan alternatives in 2023 menu include Lifestyle Bowls, Fajita vegetables, Tortillas, Black & Pinto beans, Cilantro lime rice, Salsas, Guacamole, Sofritas, Chips, Salads and drinks!

Are the tortillas at Chipotle vegan?

Luckily, Chipotle’s tortillas are all vegan-friendly! You can choose from corn or flour tortillas as your taco or burrito base.


In conclusion, Chipotle vegan options are a step in the right direction for their business, Their vegan options are affordable, healthy, and delicious. It seems that the company has considered all of its customers when they created these new items. More vegans in the world would lead to a healthier world and less animal cruelty.

If you’re interested in trying other fast-food chains, we also have guides with other restaurants like Burger King, Taco Bell, Shake Shack, Wendy’s, and more. These chain restaurants also offer options for different types of diets. We have a full article of guides about their vegan, keto, and gluten-free options and also tips on how to order them, make sure to check them out. I hope you find this article helpful. Thanks for reading!

Chipotle Vegan Options

Tim Hortons Vegan Options (Updated Vegan Menu in 2023 )

Tuesday 25th of April 2023

[…] – Chipotle offers several plant-based options, including sofritas (a spicy tofu filling), fajita veggies, and […]

Chili's Vegan Options (Best Vegan Options + Vegetarian Menu Items) - Fast Menu

Thursday 2nd of March 2023

[…] Chipotle Bowl (No Meat) […]

Lawrence Piston

Monday 9th of January 2023

Is chipotle guacamole truly vegan? What ingredients are used to make guacamole?

Fast Menu Chief Editor

Sunday 15th of January 2023

Yes! Chipotle's guac is made of avocados, lime juice, cilantro, red onion, jalapeño, and kosher salt.

Tips for a Seamless Transition to Veganism

Tuesday 25th of October 2022

[…]  One of the best parts about veganism is trying all the fantastic plant-based foods. And one of the best ways to do that is by dining out at vegan-friendly restaurants like even finding Vegan at Chipotle. […]