Shake Shack is an American fast food chain founded in 2004 in New York City. It started as a small hot dog cart in Madison Square Park and has since grown into a global chain with locations in over 20 countries.
They are known for their burgers, hot dogs, shakes, and frozen custard. They use high-quality, all-natural ingredients and source their meat from responsible farms. In addition to its classic menu items, they also offer a selection of seasonal items, specials at specific locations, and also Shake shack vegan items to choose from!
Vegan Options at Shake Shack
While they do not have a specific vegan menu, they do offer several options that can be made vegan upon request.
Shake Shack vegan options include:
- Veggie Shackburger
- French Fries
- Vegan Drinks
- Non-Dairy Frozen Custard
- Non-Dairy Chocolate Shake
It’s important to note that their kitchen is not entirely vegan and there may be some cross-contamination with animal products. Additionally, some locations may have more vegan options available than others, so it’s always a good idea to check with your specific location and make sure to specify your dietary needs when ordering.
Nutrition facts: 280 calories, 13 grams of fat, 24 grams of carbohydrates, 7 grams of fiber, and 16 grams of protein
The Veggie shackburger is a vegan item consisting of a vegan patty made from black beans, roasted beets, and brown rice. The burger is topped with lettuce, tomato, onions, and pickles. Unfortunately, regular burger buns are NOT vegan-friendly. However, there are alternatives to choose from.
- Wheat Burger Bun
- Gluten-Free Bun
You can add extra vegan toppings to your veggie burger:
- Vegan mayo
- Cherry Peppers
- BBQ Sauce
Shake Shack Fries
Nutrition facts: 420 calories, 20 grams of fat, 55 grams of carbohydrates, 4 grams of fiber, and 6 grams of protein
French fries are a popular menu item made from whole, crinkle-cut potatoes that are fried until crispy and golden brown. They are served crispy hot and seasoned with salt.
The restaurant also has a variety of drinks available, although the selection may differ by location. Their selection of drinks includes:
- Iced Teas
- Orange Juice
- Apple Juice
- Water bottle
The Restaurant has joined forces with NotCo (a company that uses AI to replicate products into plant-based) to create products for people who are on a vegan diet and lactose intolerant.
Non-Dairy Chocolate Frozen Custard
This non-dairy Chocolate frozen custard is a delicious and a alternative to regular frozen custard for a limited time at selected locations. Their non-dairy frozen custard is made possible by NotCo. If you’re looking for a delicious plant-based treat that won’t compromise your diet, non-dairy Frozen Custard is a perfect choice!
Non-Dairy Chocolate Shake
Another product made by Shack and NotCo is Non-Dairy Chocolate Shake. It is a delicious, creamy, completely dairy-free providing an indulgent treat for anyone avoiding dairy products. Whether you’re on a diet or lactose intolerant, you can enjoy both classic chocolate milkshakes and frozen custards without guilt. With these two companies shaking up the industry, it’s never been easier to find delicious non-dairy shakes perfect for any occasion!
Frequently Asked Questions
What’s vegan at Shake Shack?
Yes, there are several Shake Shack vegan options to choose from. These options include the Veggie burger, French fries, beverages, non-dairy frozen custard, and shakes.
Are Shake Shack fries vegan?
Yes! The traditional fries are suitable for vegans. Be aware that the fries may be cooked in the same fryer as other meat products. Make sure to check and confirm this information to prevent any cross-contamination.
Does Shake Shack have vegan buns?
Yes, simply specify that you would like a vegan bun when placing your order. Shake Shack’s Veggie Shack burger is typically served on a wheat burger or gluten-free burger.
Is Shroom burger vegan friendly?
No, Shake Shack’s ‘shroom burger patty (mushroom patty) contains milk and eggs according to its allergen guide. The only safe burger at Shake shack website is the “veggie shack“, just replace the regular buns with wheat buns or gluten-free buns to make it vegan.
What is a veggie patty made of?
Shake Shack’s veggie patty is made of herbs, grains, and real greens.
Does Shake Shack have vegetarian options?
Yes, Shake Shack does have vegetarian options. They offer a variety of veggie-based items such as the ‘Shroom Burger, Veggie Shack burger, Egg breakfast sandwich, Garden Dog, Shack Cheese sauce, French Fries, and all drinks.
Final Thoughts: Shake Shack Vegan Options
Overall, Shake Shack is a popular and widely loved chain that offers tasty food made with care. Shake Shack does offer several options that can be made vegan upon request. These options include the Veggie Shack, French fries, Apple sauce, and varieties of drinks. It’s important to note that Shake Shack’s kitchen is not entirely vegan and there may be some cross-contamination with animal products.
Additionally, some locations may have more options available than others, so it’s always a good idea to check with your specific location and make sure to specify your dietary needs when ordering. While Shake Shack vegan options may be limited, they do offer several tasty options that can be modified to meet the needs of those following a diet.
Nowadays, with the growing demand for healthier lifestyles, fast-food chains are adopting and creating new products to cater to this trend. We also provide more dietary guides on the different fast food chains in the United States. You can check them out below. Thanks for reading!
Friday 10th of February 2023
Great list! Good to know they have a lot to offer for vegans like me.
Fast Menu Chief Editor
Sunday 12th of February 2023
Wednesday 18th of January 2023
Shake shack is really one of the best fast-food chains when it comes to vegan items. Veggie shackburger and chocolate shake are my faves!!