Hardee’s is a famous fast-food restaurant franchise in the United States with over 3,900 locations. They offer a wide range of items like chicken sandwiches, burgers, french fries, chicken tenders, biscuit, and more. For breakfast, they also provide burritos and biscuits. But how about gluten-free options? In this article, we’ve compiled a list of Hardee’s gluten-free options and how to order them.
Hardee’s gluten free menu is the ideal choice for anyone looking for gluten-free fast food. You will not have to worry about eating bland food because Hardee’s has a lot of gluten-free options on its menu.
What is Gluten?
Before we go on the gluten-free options list, let’s first understand why gluten should be avoided.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. Gluten makes dough elastic or chewy (which is why it’s used in bread). People who are allergic to gluten may not be able to digest products with gluten, such as by eating buns, croutons, breaded chicken, and other items at Hardee’s.
The problem with gluten is hard to digest because the human body lacks enzymes that can break down proteins into amino acids that are small enough to be absorbed by our body. If our body can’t absorb it causes inflammation and damage to the surrounding tissue. The symptoms include diarrhea, bloating, fatigue, joint pain, brain fog, or headaches.
Due to these health implications, more and more people are turning to a healthier lifestyle and being more conscious of what they eat, especially in fast food restaurants.
Hardee’s Gluten-Free Options
These are the few gluten-free alternatives available at Hardee’s. According to Hardee’s menu gluten free, all of the foods mentioned below do not contain wheat or gluten. However, please keep in mind that some items still have the possibility of cross-contamination and several other residues of gluten.
When ordering you can tell them that you are gluten intolerant or have celiac disease, so that they’ll take precautions in preparing your food like changing gloves and sanitizing their food preparation area.
Here is a list of Hardee’s gluten-free options:
Hardee’s offers a wide variety of burgers. But are they gluten-free? Unfortunately, most of their burgers contain gluten and it all came from the buns. Hardees gluten free bread are not yet avaiable, the classic buns that they’re using contain gluten.
For a gluten-free version, you have to order all of their burgers WITHOUT the buns to make it safe. You can ask for a lettuce wrap or a bowl. Their selection of burgers includes:
- Original Thickburger
- Bacon Cheese Thickburger
- Original Beyond Thickburger
- Famous Star with Cheese
- Mushroom & Swiss Thickburger
- The Big Hardee
- Original Angus Burger
- Super Star with Cheese
- Big Cheeseburger
- The Really Big Hardee
- Bacon & Cheese Angus Burger
- Monster Angus Burger
- Frisco Thickburger
- Frisco Angus Burger
- Double Cheeseburger
- Small Cheeseburger
- Small Hamburger
Chicken and More
Gluten free at Hardees also includes chicken items. All of these items are listed in Hardee’s Allergen Menu guide and they’re gluten-free. Just make sure to order them without the buns. Just like the burger, you can ask for a lettuce wrap or just a bowl.
- Charbroiled BBQ Chicken Sandwich
- Original Hot Ham ‘N’ Cheese
- Charbroiled Chicken Club Sandwich
- Original Roast Beef Sandwich
- Monster Roast Beef
- Big Roast Beef
- Big Hot Ham ‘N’ Cheese
The Red Burrito is one of the famous Hardee’s gluten free breakfast menu dish. It features seasoned beef, hot sauce, refried beans, melted cheddar cheese, and red enchilada sauce. It usually comes with a tortilla, however, it contains gluten so you to omit it and have it in a bowl. This low carb breakfast bowl is also a great option if you’re on keto.
- Beef Bowl
- Chicken Bowl
- Sour Cream
- Chips & Salsa
hardees gluten free menu also includes sides. Here are your gluten-free side options at Hardee’s:
- Side Salad
- Green Beans
- Cole Slaw
- Mashed Potatoes
The natural-cut French fries and hash browns are naturally gluten free but they are fried in the same fryer as other glutenous items at Hardee’s. There is a high risk of contamination so you have to avoid them. Keep this in mind if you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance.
If you want to treat your sweet tooth, don’t worry! Gluten free Hardee’s includes hand-scooped ice cream to indulge in. Its flavors include:
- Vanilla Ice Cream Shakes
- Chocolate Ice Cream Shakes
- Strawberry Ice Cream Shakes
Some of the popular gluten free Hardees sauces that are going to work well with your meal are:
- Smoky BBQ
- Honey Mustard
- Buttermilk Herb Ranch
Most fast-food chain offers canned sodas, fruit juices, teas, and gluten-free fountain drinks. Here are the gluten-free beverages that you can order at Hardee’s:
- Diet Coke
- Coke Zero
- Cherry Coke
- Diet Dr Pepper
- Dr Pepper
- Hi-C Orange
- Iced Tea
- Sweet Tea
- Mello Yello
- Rise and Shine Coffee
- Dasani Bottled Water
- Simply Orange
- Chocolate Milk
Hardee’s Gluten-Free Options FAQs
Are hardee’s hash browns gluten free?
No. Since they don’t use a separate fryer for their hash browns and fries, cross-contamination is a possibility.
Does hardee’s have gluten free buns?
Unfortunately, the company doesn’t gluten-free buns for their burger. So make sure any burger or sandwiches without the buns.
Are Hardee’s french fries gluten free?
So are Hardees fries gluten free? Unfortunately, the fries are cooked in the same fryer as other glutenous foods, just like the hash browns, making them not gluten-free.
Overall, Hardee’s may not be the best option for eating out when you’re on a gluten free diet. However, they do offer a selection of Hardee’s gluten free options that are safe to eat. The list mentioned above is Hardees gluten-free best options and also provided you with the best way to order them. Always check the Hardees allergen menu for safety measures.
Having a healthier lifestyle has been on a rise, in recent years. More and more people are opting for healthy food options and diets. Gluten free options are one of them.
If you’re interested in trying other fast-food chains, we also have guides with other restaurants like Burger King, Taco Bell, Chipotle, Shake Shack, Wendy’s, and more. These chain restaurants also offer options for different types of diets. We have a full article of guides about their vegan, keto, and gluten-free options and also tips on how to order them, make sure to check them out. I hope you find this article helpful. Thanks for reading!